Perspective

Few years ago, I discovered the Art of Aikido, what radically transformed my commitment to the world: I had a dichotomous vision of antagonism and resistance which changed into a relationship that includes the listening the opponents. I am today convinced that the power of Harmony and of Peace can apply to all our relationships and interactions.

Confrontation dichotomique et non constructiveConfrontation qui inclut l'écoute et qui ouvre des possibilités créatrices

Everyday, we face stress’ situation which can lead us to conflicts: conflicts with ourselves, which are expressed by resistances, interpersonal conflicts which can open into important crises in relations. The practice of Aikido allows responding to stressful or antagonistic situations in a respectful and authentic way with the goal to come to terms with oneself and with the others.

Mediation also uses in a different way the values of Harmony, Authenticity in order to solve the conflicts, we face everyday. It offers a space to the conflict, which is inherent to the human nature, in order to transform it into a new creative relationship. Indeed, “Understanding develops common ground from which to proceed in a harmonious relationship.”[1] Listening is an essential quality for solving conflicts. It is the path towards understanding which creates peace.



[1] Moon Richard, The Power of Extraordinary Listening Creating Extraordinary Wealth, p. 167

Perspective

Il y a quelques années, j’ai découvert l’aïkido qui a transformé radicalement mon engagement dans le monde : je suis passée d’une vision dichotomique d’affrontement et de résistance à une relation qui inclut l’écoute de ses adversaires. Je suis aujourd’hui convaincue que le pouvoir de l’harmonie et de la paix peuvent s’appliquer à l’ensemble des niveaux de nos relations et de nos interactions.

Confrontation dichotomique et non constructiveConfrontation qui inclut l'écoute et qui ouvre des possibilités créatrices

Quotidiennement, nous sommes confrontés à des situations de stress qui peuvent potentiellement déboucher sur des conflits: conflits avec soi-même qui s’expriment par des résistances, conflits interpersonnels qui peuvent conduire à des crises importantes dans les relations entre individus. La pratique de l’aïkido permet de répondre à des situations de stress d’une manière respectueuse et authentique avec le but ultime de se réconcilier avec soi-même et donc avec les autres.

La médiation met d’une autre manière en pratique les valeurs d’harmonie, d’authenticité pour résoudre les conflits que nous vivons quotidiennement. Elle offre une place au conflit qui est inhérent à la nature humaine pour le transformer en une nouvelle relation créatrice. En effet, « la compréhension développe un sol commun duquel on atteint une relation harmonieuse. »[1] L’écoute est la qualité essentielle pour résoudre le conflit. Elle est la voie vers la compréhension qui crée la paix.


[1] Moon Richard, The Power of Extraordinary Listening Creating Extraordinary Wealth, p. 167